Northern Indiana farms among 2021 Hoosier Homestead Award recipients

Indiana State Department of Agriculture

Several Northern Indiana farms were among the more than 70 presented with a 2021 Hoosier Homestead Award.

Lt. Gov Suzanne Crouch and Indiana State Department of Agriculture Director Bruce Kettler presented 73 family farms with the award, which recognizes a family’s longstanding commitment to Indiana agriculture. Homestead farms must be owned by the same family for more than 100 consecutive years, and consist of 20 acres or more, or produce more than $1,000 in agricultural products annually.

“Agriculture has always been and continues to be a vital and thriving industry in our state,” Crouch said.

Northern Indiana farms honored this year include (county, family, year founded, award):

  • LaPorte County, Shebel family, 1920, centennial
  • LaPorte County, Steve and Joann Jensen, 1871, sesquicentennial
  • Pulaski County, Theodore & Lowell Podell, 1900, centennial
  • Pulaski County, William, Meyer family, 1899, centennial
  • St. Joseph County, Beehler family, 1860, sesquicentennial

Families are eligible for three different distinctions of the Hoosier Homestead Award, based on the age of the farm. They can receive the Centennial Award for 100 years, Sesquicentennial Award for 150 years or Bicentennial Award for 200 years of ownership.

Since the program’s inception in 1976, nearly 6,000 families have received the award.  

“Each of these Hoosier Homestead farms have such a unique and important story behind them,” Kettler said. “Managing and operating a farm is no simple task.”

The complete list can be found on the Indiana State Department of Agriculture website.


Scroll to Top