Ivy Tech

Ivy Tech staff from South Bend-Elkhart, Northwest Indiana honored by college

Ivy Tech

A select group of faculty and staff at Ivy Tech Community College have been presented with President’s Awards by the organization for their exemplary work with students and in their communities.

Several honorees were from Ivy Tech Region campuses and those in the South Bend-Elkhart area. The recipients were selected based on nominations from students, faculty members, and Ivy Tech staff.

The President’s Award is the highest honor given to Ivy Tech staff.

Faculty honorees from Northwest and North Central Indiana include:

  • Lake County: Teresa Hallmen – program chair medical assisting
  • South Bend – Elkhart: Rosario Hiestand – full-time professor early childhood education
  • Valparaiso: Mitzi Mary Simerlein, D.C. – assistant professor liberal and physical sciences

Adjunct honorees from Northwest and North Central Indiana include:

  • Lake County: Lee Richard Purcell – communication/PT academic advisor
  • South Bend – Elkhart: Fernando Ramirez III – environmental design
  • Valparaiso: Thomas Bancsi- lead occupational therapist

Other faculty honorees include:

  • Anderson: Duane Wolfe – assistant professor of mathematics and assistant department chair for the school of arts, sciences and education
  • Bloomington: Kyle Hetrick – associate professor and assistant chair, biology and anatomy and physiology
  • Columbus: Michael Kelley – assistant program chair/assistant professor welding
  • Fort Wayne: Matthew Fisher – associate professor, economics
  • Indianapolis: James Hamilton – associate professor, mechanical engineering technology
  • Kokomo: Jia Hardimon-Eddington – surgical technology instructor
  • Lafayette: Elizabeth Hayden – program chair/faculty respiratory therapy
  • Lawrenceburg: Amanda Purcell – associate professor of education/program chair early childhood education, elementary education and secondary education
  • Madison: Ronald Novak – F4 industrial technology
  • Marion: Ceola Friday – program chair early childhood education
  • Muncie: Octavia Thorns-Jackson – department chair, English, communications, and world languages
  • Richmond: Kristen Soots – program chair general studies/assistant professor of mathematics
  • Sellersburg: Kimberly Reynolds – associate professor of English/ivy achieves champion
  • Terre Haute: Angela Hayes – assistant professor human services

Other adjunct faculty honorees include:

  • Anderson: Christine Quinn – healthcare specialist and CNA director
  • Bloomington: Mary Jane Fleener – nursing
  • Columbus: Catherine Swinney – clinical Instructor PN and ASN nursing program
  • Evansville: August “John” Paulson – human services
  • Fort Wayne: James Graham – automotive technology
  • Indianapolis: Dianna Davis – faculty/mentor and course developer, IvyOnline
  • Kokomo: David Lingle – automotive instructor
  • Lafayette: Brooke Criswell – adjunct lecturer
  • Lawrenceburg: C. Martin Justice – human services
  • Madison: Rae Jean Morris – school of nursing
  • Marion: Vicki Schumacher – medical assisting
  • Muncie: Felix Rippy – adjunct professor of business and technology
  • Richmond: Sunshine McCartt – adjunct faculty
  • Sellersburg: Veronica Munn – associate adjunct instructor, English
  • Terre Haute: Brandon Hall – lab assistant agriculture


Scroll to Top