Holcomb announces latest state board, commission appointments

Eric Holcomb
Eric Holcomb is the 51st governor of the state of Indiana.

The office of Gov. Eric Holcomb announced the latest appoints to various state boards and commissions.

Among the appointees are residents from Northwest and North Central Indiana.

Coroners Training Board

Two new appointments:

  • Christopher Brown (Milltown), Crawford County Coroner
  • Joani Shields (Ellettsville), Monroe County Coroner

Graduate Medical Education Board

Three reappointments; terms end Dec. 31, 2022:

  • Dr. Steven Becker (Evansville), associate dean and director of the Indiana University School of Medicine–Evansville
  • Dr. Michelle Howenstine (Zionsville), senior associate dean for Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Medical Education with the Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Dr. Tom Sonderman (Columbus), vice president and chief medical officer at Columbus Regional Health

Two new appointments to the board:

  • Harry “Clif” Knight II (Carmel), assistant dean of Clinical Affairs at Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine; term ends Dec. 31, 2022.
  • Curt Ward (Zionsville), director of medical education and designated institutional official at Ascension St. Vincent; term ends Dec. 31.

Indiana Charter School Board

One new appointment; term ends June 30, 2023:

  • Beth Bray (Carmel), program officer with the Walton Family Foundation

Indiana Criminal Justice Institute Board of Trustees

One reappointment; term ends May 31, 2024:

  • John Boyd (La Porte), La Porte County Sheriff

One new appointment; term ends May 31, 2024:

  • Jeff Balon (Valparaiso), chief of the Valparaiso Police Department

Indiana Emergency Response Commission

Two new appointments:

  • Vincent Griffin (Carmel), retired former vice president for Environmental and Energy Policy with the Indiana Chamber of Commerce
  • Stephanie McKinney (Hazleton), deputy director for the Gibson County Emergency Management Agency

Indiana Parole Board

One new appointment; term ends Sept. 30, 2025:

  • Mia Kelsaw (Fort Wayne), who will serve full-time with the board.

Indiana Retirement Home Guaranty Fund Board of Directors

Four reappointments; terms end March 31, 2023:

  • Lorene Burkhart (Carmel), representing residents.
  • John Dattilo (Zionsville), CEO of BHI Senior Living Inc.
  • Steven Johnson (Indianapolis), assistant vice president with Simon Property Group
  • Doris Brauman-Moore (Avon), attorney with the Brauman Moore & Harvey Law Offices

One new appointment to the board; term ends March 31, 2023:

  • Robert Reynolds (Carmel), representing residents.

Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

One reappointment; term ends March 31, 2025:

  • Jim Huston (Brownsburg), who serves full-time with the commission. The governor also reappointed him chair of the commission.

Integrated Public Safety Commission

One new appointment:

  • Ben Hunter (Indianapolis), associate vice president for Public Safety and Institutional Assurance, and Superintendent for Public Safety

Judicial Nominating Commission for the Allen Superior Court

Three reappointments; terms end June 30, 2025:

  • Benjamin Eisbart (Fort Wayne), retired former vice president at Steel Dynamics
  • Angela Moellering (Fort Wayne), president and CEO of Lutheran Social Services of Indiana
  • Mark Terrell (Fort Wayne), CEO of Lifeline Youth & Family Services, Crosswinds, and Lasting Change

Mining Board

Two new appointments; terms end May 31, 2025:

  • Brandon Flath (Linton), construction foreman at Sunrise Coal
  • Kevin Hills (Chandler), mining program director at Vincennes University

Occupational Safety Standards Commission

One new appointment; term ends May 31, 2024:

  • Murray Miller (South Bend), business manager and secretary-treasurer for the Laborers’ International Union of North America Local 645

State Board of Cosmetology & Barber Examiners

Four reappointments to the board; terms end April 30, 2025:

  • Diana Bonn (Muncie), owner of Identity Salon
  • Rev. Gregory Kenny, Sr. (Fishers), CEO of Kenny’s Academy of Barbering
  • Victoria Ross (Petersburg), lead educator/Esthetics with The Salon Professional Academy Evansville
  • Diana Weisheit (Lynnville), owner/operator of Diana’s Casual Cut

One new appointment:

  • Kendra Forrester (Indianapolis), occupational therapist

Turkey Creek Regional Sewer District Board

One new appointment; term ends July 31, 2022:

  • Bradley Fishburn (Syracuse), senior engineer with Bennington Marine

Underground Storage Tank Financial Assurance Board

Two reappointments; terms end May 31, 2023:

  • Kim Logan (Indianapolis), deputy treasurer and director of operations with Indiana Treasurer of State Kelly Mitchell
  • Tom Navarre (Valparaiso), vice president of Family Express Corp.

Six new appointments:

  • Mark Aldous (Indianapolis), producer at Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
  • Matt Forrester (Madison), retired former regional chairman for German American Bank
  • Jason Lenz (Montpelier), CEO of Creek Run LLC
  • Trout Moser (Bluffton), president of National Oil & Gas, Inc.
  • Toby Rickabaugh (Indianapolis), environmental professional with Marathon Petroleum
  • Nivas Vijay (South Bend), senior project manager and COO at Heartland Environmental Associates Inc., and principal/COO with Seratech Drilling & Exploration LLC.


Scroll to Top